Dipti Itchhaporia

Dipti Itchhaporia

Hoag Heart and Vascular Institute, USA

Dipti Itchhaporia is the immediate past President of the American College of Cardiology (ACC).  She was the 70th President of the ACC and the first South Asian American to hold this role. She is an interventional cardiologist and the Eric & Sheila Samson Endowed Chair in Cardiovascular Health, director of disease management for Hoag Heart and Vascular Institute, and Associate Professor at the University of California, Irvine.

Dr Itchhaporia’s professional interests include helping develop digital tools and other innovations that can propel digital transformation in healthcare, disrupt care delivery and achieve the Quintuple Aim. She has been the Chair of the ACC’s Health Equity Taskforce focusing on addressing the social determinants of health and improving access to care for underserved patients. She also has an interest in cardiovascular disease in women focusing on emerging risk factors and medical and lifestyle interventions to prevent coronary heart disease.

She will be joining the World Heart Federation board starting in January 2023 contributing her global perspectives on the prevention of noncommunicable diseases (NCDs). She has worked with the Public Health Foundation of India in their capacity-building efforts and has also been involved with the Best of ACC’s program in China, educating cardiovascular professionals in China. She has also Co-chaired ACC’s International Conference in the Middle East and has been on the editorial board for the ACC’s extended learning (ACCEL) as well as the Cardiology Today magazine. She has also participated in numerous quality initiatives including being a Member of the Physician Advisory Group, California Physician Performance Initiative (CPPI), an advisor for the ACC’s Innovation Program and most recently has been asked to be a member of the Cardiovascular Disease (CVD) Master Plan Steering Committee, California Department of Public Health.

Prior to becoming ACC President, Dr Itchhaporia held many leadership positions including being on the ACC’s Board of Trustees, past ACC Secretary and Chair of the Board of Governors for the ACC, Past President of the California state chapter of the ACC, an advisor for the ACC’s Innovation Program, the Board of the Western Affiliates Board of the American Heart Association (AHA), and Past President of the Orange County Chapter of the AHA.

She was named Cardiologist of the Year 2021 for the California State Chapter of the ACC. She has been named Top Doctor by the Orange Coast Magazine for the last three years and has been recognized by the AHA as an Outstanding Medical Honoree. She is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association, the European Society of Cardiology and an honorary member of the British Cardiovascular Society, the Indian College of Cardiology, the Irish Cardiac Society and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons, Glasgow.